Social Studies

All high school students are required to take four years of Social Studies by the New York State Department of Education. The Department of Educated requires that students demonstrate competency by passing Regent Exams in both Global History & Geography and United States History & Government at the conclusion of those courses. Global History is a two-year course offered during the freshman and sophomore years. The United States History & Government course is completed during the junior year. Students are then required to take one semester of Economics and one semester of Participation in Government during the senior year. These courses can conclude with a local exam, project, or term paper.

The Social Studies Department offers a variety of Advanced Placement electives such as AP Economics, AP European History, AP Government, AP Psychology, AP U.S., and AP World History. We offer Honors courses in Economics and Government which are part of the District's 3-1-3 program with SUNY Brockport. And finally, we offer electives in Mock Trial, Psychology, Violence in America, and Sociology.

Department Faculty

Mr. Chris Arnold
email: christopher.arnold@bcs1.org

Mr. Tony Benson
email: anthony.benson@bcs1.org

Mr. Orlando Benzan
email: orlando.benzan@bcs1.org

Mr. Chris Beyrle
email: christopher.beyrle@bcs1.org

Mrs. Cherie Brooks
email: cherie.brooks@bcs1.org

Mr. Neil Czerniak
email: neil.czerniak@bcs1.org

Mrs. Kerry Gant
email: kerry.gant@bcs1.org

Mr. Matt Geary
email: matthew.geary@bcs1.org

Mr. Scott Hopsicker (Department Chair)
email: scott.hopsicker@bcs1.org

Mr. Charlie Kinsey
email: charles.kinsey@bcs1.org

Mr. Matt Schirmer
email: matthew.schirmer@bcs1.org

Ms. Shannon Sevor
email: shannon.sevor@bcs1.org

Mr. Jon VanHuben
email: jonathan.vanhuben@bcs1.org


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.